There are two categories of awards for authors who presented papers at VLSI-TSA: Best Student Paper Award and Student Travel Award
Other award: ERSO Award 
Best Student Paper Award
In 2005, the VLSI-TSA Symposium started the Best Student Paper Award annual contest. As of 2015, the award will be presented to two papers presented by full time students. The selection will be based on the evaluation by members of technical committees of students’ papers, as well as their oral presentations during the conference. The Best Student Paper Awards will be granted to the winning students at the next conference. Students must indicate with their submission that they would like to be considered for this award.

2015 Winners ~ Congratulations!     ÜHistory of Award Winners
Ultrathin InAs-Channel MOSFETs on Si substrates
Cheng-Ying Huang1, Xinyu Bao2, Zhiyuan Ye2, Sanghoon Lee1, Hanwei Chiang1, Haoran Li1, Varistha Chobpattana1, Brian Thibeault1, William Mitchell1, Susanne Stemmer1, Arthur Gossard1, Errol Sanchez2, and Mark Rodwell1
1University of California Santa Barbara
2Applied Materials
Passivation of surface defects on InGaAs (001) and (110) surfaces in preparation for subsequent gate oxide ALD
M. Edmonds1, T. J Kent1, M. Chang2, J.Kachian2, R.Droopad3, E. Chagarov1, and A. C. Kummel1
1University of California San Diego
2Applied Materials,
3Texas State University 
2016 Candidates
• T5-2 Deep Understanding of Random Telegraph Noise (RTN) Effects on SRAM Stability
   Dongyuan Mao, Shaofeng Guo, Ruheng Wang, Mulong Luo, and Ru Huang
T7-4 A-SiGeC Thin Film Photovoltaic Enabled Self-Power Monolithic 3D IC Under Indoor Illumination
   Ming-Hsuan Kao, Chih-Chao Yang, Tsung-Ta Wu, Tung-Ying Hsieh, Wen-Hsien Huang, Hsing-Hsiang Wang, Chang-Hong Shen, Wen-Kuan Yeh, Meng-Fan Chang, and Jia-Min Shieh
T7-5 Reliable High-Voltage Amorphous InGaZnO TFT for Monolithic 3D Integration
   Ming-Jiue Yu, Ruei-Ping Lin, Yu-Hong Chang, and Tuo-Hung Hou
T9-2 Short-Channel BEOL ZnON Thin-Film Transistors with Superior Mobility Performance
   Chin-I Kuan, Horng-Chih Lin, Pei-Wen Li, and Tiao-Yuan Huang
T9-3 High-gain, Low-voltage BEOL Logic Gate Inverter Built with Film Profile Engineered IGZO Transistors
   Rong-Jhe Lyu, Yun-Hsuan Chiu, Horng-Chih Lin, Pei-Wen Li, and Tiao-Yuan Huang
T10-2 Variable-length Gateless Transistor for Analog One-Time-Programmable Memory Applications
   Po-Ruei Cheng, Chih-Sung Yang, Meng-Yin Hsu, Chrong Jung Lin, and Ya-Chin King
T13-4 Comprehensive Study of Intrinsic Unipolar SiOx-Based ReRAM Characteristics in AC Frequency Response and Low Voltage (< 2V) Operation
   Ying-Chen Chen, Yao-Feng Chang, Burt Fowler, Fei Zhou, Xiaohan Wu, Cheng-Chih Hsieh, Heng-Lu Chang, Chih-Hung Pan, Min-Chen Chen, Kuan-Chang Chang, Tsung-Ming Tsai, Ting-Chang Chang, and Jack C. Lee
T13-5 A New Manufacturing Method of CMOS Logic Compatible 1T-CRRAM
   Hung-Yu Chen, Hsien-Hao Chen, Yun-Feng Kao, Ping-Yu Chen, Ya-Chin King, and Chrong Jung Lin

Student Travel Award    (Financial Support for Overseas Students)
Please read the requirements and payment conditions to verify whether you are eligible for application before applying.

•Your paper must be accepted by VLSI-TSA 2016. The notices of acceptance will be sent out to authors by December 31, 2015.
•You must be a full-time enrolled STUDENT in an overseas country / region’s educational institution.
•You must present and have this presentation confirmed at VLSI-TSA 2016.

Payment Conditions
•Payment will be made only AFTER the paper is presented at VLSI-TSA 2016 by the applicant.
•Payment will be done in cash, on site, by US dollar.
•The award will apply to ONE person per abstract (the presenting person) only.
•The amount of the award is:
  Ü US$ 450 (USA East coast & Europe)
  Ü US$ 350 (USA West coast)
  Ü US$ 250 (Asia, not include Taiwan)
•To apply please send the following documents to VLSI-TSA Secretariat (
  Ü Application Form      
  Ü A copy of your Student ID Card
•Application Deadline: February 9, 2016, 24:00:00 (CST)
•The VLSI-TSA secretariat will check your application and will inform you of the result by the end of February, 2016 
ERSO Award

ERSO Award was established in 2007 with the sponsorship from Pan Wen Yuan Foundation to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to Taiwan electronics industry. The foundation is established to promote the cultivation of technical manpower specialized in the fields of semiconductor and information science. The Award consists of a certificate and a trophy.